Normally, to create text animation in Flash we either use timeline Motion Tween or ActionScript coding. Motion tweening is very time-consuming and not practical because the text must be broken apart and converted into Symbols. ActionScripting is a better solution, but it will require advance coding skills. Fortunately, now we have TxEff! It is a Flash component developed by Jump Eye Components, for web designers who need to create text animations in a fast and reliable manner. This article will show you how to create video-like text effects with TxEff in just a few minutes.

Requirements

TxEff requres Adobe Flash CS3, ActionScript 3.0, and Flash Player 9+ to play or view the SWF movie.

Effect Patterns

The free/demo version includes 3 basic patterns: Alpha, Blur, and XYScale transitions. To get the advanced patterns, you need to purchase the full license version for $99.97. Jump Eye is continuously building new effect patterns. At the moment, they already have 24 patterns built in their full license version. They promised that by March 2008, we will have at least 50 patterns.

How to use it?

TxEff is very easy to use. Simply create a TextField object on the stage, drag-and-drop the component over the TextField object, configure the parameters (optional), and you are done!

1. Create TextField object

Make a new ActionScript 3.0 Flash file. Use the Text tool and create a TextField object on the stage. Name your TextField instance with the following settings:

1. dynamic text field type
2. render text as html
3. anti-alias for animation
4. embedded fonts

screenshot

2. Attach component

Open the Components palette, drag the TxEff component over the TextField instance.

screenshot

In the Component Inspector palette, select [*] from the patternName dropdown and manually enter the pattern name "FallAndGlow". Then drag-and-drop the FallAndGlow component on the stage (it can be store anywhere on the stage or in the Library). You can experiment with the parameter settings or leave everything as default.

screenshot

Note: Demo version only comes with 3 basic transition patterns. To use the advanced patterns, you need to get the full version.

3. TransitionType hide

In the previous step, I have applied the "FallAndGlow" effect at tweenDuration = 2 sec. Now I want to apply different effect to make the text disappear after the first effect is finish. So, in Frame #60 (2sec x 30fps = 60frames), insert a new Keyframe (F6).

screenshot

Select the TxtEff instant, in the Component Inspector palette change patternName to "HorizontalDissolve" and set transitionType to "hide".

screenshot

4. Import effect settings

If you are lazy to experiment with the parameter settings, you can import the effect settings from the TxEff Online Database. Find the effect that you like, copy the effect ID number and paste it in the effect id field and click Import.

screenshot

Conclusion

TxEff is the best text animation Flash component that I’ve seen so far. It is perfect for making Flash intro or ad banners. TxEff not only can save time, but it can also create video-like effects that are impossible to make without scripting and calculating graphics with BitmapData.

Get your free copy!!

We are giving out 3 full license copies. Follow this link to find out how to get a free copy!

93 Comments

Jordy
Jan 7, 2008 at 5:46 am

This looks very nice!!

greetings Jordy

Carly
Jan 7, 2008 at 5:55 am

Wow it looks like a very helpful tool, unfortunatly, I just remembered I have flash 8 not CS! So you’ll have to take me out of the draw, unless it works with older versions!!!

lryd2l
Jan 7, 2008 at 6:40 am

Seems nice…

Maybe a good improvement for working with flash.

gr
lryd2l

fcuk
Jan 7, 2008 at 8:31 am

Worth the job!

Unfortunately i still use AS2 and i am just planning to learn AS3. Very nice and professional effects.

Raul, JumpeyeComponents
Jan 7, 2008 at 10:29 am

Wow, this is such a great review, and looking at the comments, at the contest page, I just realized that we’ve managed to create a component that is really loved by the audience.

Thanks Nick for all your honest opinions, I certainly agree with your conclusions :P, Also, I must say, there is very high quality stuff here.

If you guys want the component just go ahead and order it because it is on a special promotion now, only until January 17, 2008. However, if you win a license at the contest, we would happily offer you a buyback offer ;)

Frank
Jan 7, 2008 at 12:23 pm

In your opinion, what is the best Flash reference book for a beginner/intermediate level designer. I am looking to design sites completely in Flash and have basic knowledge of it. Please respond to my email. Thanks.

Fabian
Jan 7, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Nice article!

Daoro
Jan 7, 2008 at 3:25 pm

WAAC aka What An Awesome Component !
It’s…. as easy as in AfterEffects only it’s in Flash.

*drools*

Anndie Sood
Jan 7, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Awesome Effects. This could really come in handy.

TheJeff
Jan 8, 2008 at 8:55 am

That is going to be a major time savor. Fantastic!

Julie T.
Jan 8, 2008 at 9:16 am

Here’s my comment for a chance to get this awesome component. The video like quality is what really impresses me. Thanks for the great review!

Char
Jan 8, 2008 at 9:41 am

wow! i love this… i’m definitely gonna get this on my shopping list!

Motaz
Jan 8, 2008 at 10:32 am

Here you go! Great component.

glezmen
Jan 8, 2008 at 10:52 am

I don’t know if this is the right place to ask…
but can TxEff used from plain ActionScript (without using Flash CS3 IDE)?

Brendan
Jan 8, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Do you know if you can import the working files into AfterEffects??? That would be awesome…

morteza
Jan 8, 2008 at 10:28 pm

does it work with arabic font

Philip
Jan 9, 2008 at 2:36 pm

If theresomething left – give me it please! =)

Brian
Jan 9, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Looks great. Worth trying out for sure.

lloyd
Jan 10, 2008 at 1:39 am

That’s just awesome! A pretty cool way to animate :)

steve
Jan 10, 2008 at 10:05 am

This feels like a paid post. There are components almost identical to this that have been around for years.

David B.
Jan 10, 2008 at 5:50 pm

@ steve so what if it is, stop trolling… move on if you dont like this.

Raul
Jan 11, 2008 at 3:34 am

steve, can you give me at least 2 other components similar if not “identical” to TxEff. Most important, can you point out a single text effect component that can be applied in runtime AS3 on dynamic TextFields, and with so many different patterns?

July C
Jan 11, 2008 at 2:06 pm

pretty awesome, the hurdle WAS actionscript.

phellipe
Jan 11, 2008 at 6:28 pm

OMG, I loved this *-*

aodoe
Jan 11, 2008 at 11:43 pm

It is very usefull, I like it and download it soon.

Mohammed
Jan 12, 2008 at 5:18 pm

this will really help flash designers

Julen
Jan 13, 2008 at 3:54 am

It is nice, but a bit pricey.

Livingston
Jan 14, 2008 at 11:01 am

Wonderful component. I’d love to try this one and hope that I’ll get one for free from this giveaway contest.

I missed the last one. I’m looking forward for more superb information :)

Rene
Jan 14, 2008 at 5:53 pm

really cool effects, i saw components like that before but i have to say this is awesome

aodoe
Jan 14, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Good!

Tom
Jan 15, 2008 at 8:44 pm

I am impressed. I typically use After Effects to create such effects. That would improve workflow.

Annie-Kate
Jan 15, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Hey!
I came across your website of the bloggies site, where I was chosen as a random panelist, and I LOVED the site, and chose it as one in five for the best designed blog.

Good luck!

Annie-Kate

Naveed
Jan 16, 2008 at 4:49 am

Wow, its really great.

An Jay
Jan 16, 2008 at 4:50 am

I am impressed. Keep it up!

werm42
Jan 16, 2008 at 1:47 pm

This tool would certainly save countless painful hours when doing banner ads. I wish I would have known about it sooner. I’ve already recommended it to all me designer friends, the only caveate is the need for the flash 9 player. As trite as it sounds most people fail to update their player. Hell, I just screwed up the install (browser malfunction). But people will slowly migrate and this tool will be great for near-future use.

Lawrence the photographer
Jan 16, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Wow so cool! Amazing flash stuff

milkr
Jan 18, 2008 at 1:18 am

nice tool
support chinese too?

Amber Barth
Jan 19, 2008 at 5:04 pm

What a very handy (and wonderful) tool! I know what I’m putting on my wish-list.

tabaheee
Jan 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

Really very usefull tool.

Scott
Jan 22, 2008 at 12:50 pm

Pretty slick! One question, though. It says at their site that it’s for CS3. Does that mean CS3 exclusively? I have and use Studio MX 2004, but not CS3. Will this component work in that environment? (Yes, I’ve been considering an upgrade, but lately my contracts have run toward photography, illustration, and technical writing, so I haven’t felt any degree of urgency to make the change.)

Scott

Ming
Jan 28, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Looks really great. I like the smoothness of the animation it almost looks like live type from apple. Impressive

Live Footy
Feb 2, 2008 at 12:32 pm

really so nice article,thanks

Christina
Feb 6, 2008 at 1:40 am

Very interesting! its reallly nice sharing !

Lexu
Feb 12, 2008 at 12:09 pm

nice job! thanks for sharing

sunrise
Feb 25, 2008 at 5:06 am

It’s just what i want , thanks a lot!

Bodhi
Feb 25, 2008 at 6:50 am

Thank you for this article.

Hassan
Feb 29, 2008 at 1:44 am

PweeZZZZZ give it to me =$

Effective Web Design
Apr 12, 2008 at 2:47 am

This is a very interesting tool, however the only downside is it limits your compatibility to only those who have the latest flash 9 player. I know quite a lot of businesses that are still running in Flash 7 or 8.

I can appreciate the effects and the easy of generated effects I just do not think it is the greatest solution in the businesses world (not yet at least).

dedde
Apr 16, 2008 at 12:21 pm

mmm..
i’ll try that one…
wish that i’m the lucky one…
^_^

it looks…. cooooooooooooooooooooooooollllllllllll….

uminhhieu
Apr 23, 2008 at 1:00 pm

thanx,that so cool

William
Apr 30, 2008 at 7:25 pm

Nice effects! I got my txteff component already. It looks so great!!!! Thanks Nick for sharing!

Ghostbuster
May 3, 2008 at 2:18 am

Some nice ones with blur and 3d mimic, but most look old like stuff from the early milenium years. I personally prefer Astro Components, much more choice and diversity.

carlos cisneros
May 13, 2008 at 9:59 am

woow excelent component!! tanks!

cagri akar
May 16, 2008 at 10:39 am

çok güzel bravo

Flash Developers
Jun 1, 2008 at 7:45 am

Great Effects…!
Useful tutorials for flash developers.

Sanibel Photographer
Jun 19, 2008 at 6:53 pm

Very Nice. This is a great way to animate.

atmosfreer
Jun 20, 2008 at 9:04 am

if there is still freebies available please consider me :)

Martin Kmet
Jun 25, 2008 at 8:28 am

WOw, Really nice component. Id like to have one :)

Bruce Atchley
Jul 8, 2008 at 5:27 pm

I have used the txeff component in the past and would love to see the difference in both it and this. Are you able to use shapes or images or just text again? Great looking effects.

sohn
Jul 10, 2008 at 3:58 am

Hello. When I go to txeff.com and copy id for my favorite effect and then I past in my flash CS3 txeff. But it’s said that The Pattern:’Typewriter’ is unavailable. How can I do? Please help. Thank you

Peykan
Jul 19, 2008 at 9:35 pm

WOw, Really nice component. Id like to have one

ktoon
Jul 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

oh! that’s very good!

IT Services India
Aug 7, 2008 at 9:51 pm

Excellent effect!
I liked it, good for my flash application…Thanks

Flash Developer
Aug 10, 2008 at 10:12 pm

WOW…It will save lots of designer time in adding cool effects in flash application.

Joachim
Sep 28, 2008 at 11:14 pm

Hallo Bruce,
I have not yet found out to use shapes or images but I found with Astro Components I can make that work easy because I can acess the font movieclip and put it there. Maybe in next one.

Alanya
Oct 11, 2008 at 4:51 pm

very good… Thanks you very much

挖客
Jan 14, 2009 at 9:13 pm

还有免费的吗?
如果有,请发我一份可以吗。
Thanks

Ania
Jan 15, 2009 at 10:03 am

Oh I LOVE this component. What a stunning animations. It’s amazing how the technology moves forward. You could not imagine few years ago that just with the few clicks you could create such as amazing animation :) I would absolutely LOVE having it :)

sougata
Feb 18, 2009 at 8:21 am

revolution started with TxEff!

torete
Feb 26, 2009 at 7:12 am

it´s impossible to use!!!!

JOE
Mar 5, 2009 at 9:47 am

nio entiendooooooooooooooooooooo nada

nour
Jun 9, 2009 at 9:48 am

oh! that’s very good!

cennetevi
Aug 8, 2009 at 6:05 am

these are awesome!
thanks for putting in the effort to get this list together http://www.cennet.gen.tr

cennetevi
Aug 8, 2009 at 6:21 am

Thank =)=)=) you http://www.cennet.gen.tr webdesignerwall Thanks

flash components
Aug 10, 2009 at 4:17 am

thats a really awesome flash component. thanks for sharing details.

Jako
Sep 4, 2009 at 9:24 pm

This is a nice tool which would definitely improve our workflow! I hope this entry is just in time…

bagsin
Sep 10, 2009 at 7:39 pm

really cool and some feeling

Cyrus
Sep 21, 2009 at 9:54 am

Great , Review: TxEff Flash Component
Great article. CSS saved web design
Cyrus
Visit http://www.psdtoxhtmlcoder.com

Mike
Oct 31, 2009 at 4:29 am

wow! such a great gift!

vincentdresses
Jan 5, 2010 at 11:31 pm

The designs showed here show what simple and tasteful design is all about. Another one to consider

oyie
Mar 6, 2010 at 9:32 am

this is awesome!

Web Design
Apr 28, 2010 at 8:35 pm

Very informative thank yo!

aaron
May 10, 2010 at 6:06 pm

wow this looks like a great tool! thanks for the info

陈涛
Jun 4, 2010 at 4:53 am

so beautiful

Henry Peise
Dec 23, 2010 at 11:44 pm

People can have no interst in Nokia, Moto or other mobile phone brand, but he wiil surely love the apple offical white iphone 4.

Juno Mindoes
Dec 24, 2010 at 11:03 pm

As the Apple iphone 4 bumper is taken off the marke, will white iphone 4 available soon?

Ben
Jan 13, 2011 at 10:10 pm

hmm, i appreciate your post

complex 41
Aug 23, 2011 at 10:06 am

And then he handed you the thirty-five 55

complex41
Aug 23, 2011 at 10:39 am

And then he handed you the thirty-five 45

Robert Voltaire
Oct 4, 2011 at 10:22 pm

So that is how you do it! Thank you for sharing!

yemek tarifleri
May 2, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Painting on the tablet is fun, but to do cool things need work.

Alquiler yates en Ibiza
Jul 26, 2012 at 2:51 am

Thanks Nick for all your honest opinions, I certainly agree with your conclusions :P, Also, I must say, there is very high quality stuff here.

If you guys want the component just go ahead and order it because it is on a special promotion now, only until January 17, 2008. However, if you win a license at the contest, we would happily offer you a buyback offer ;)

DymoLabels
Jun 1, 2013 at 9:43 am

hi
i appreciate your post
i really like your post
thanks for sharing
keep it up

Post Comment or Questions

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.